20
Apr
09

Group Photos

_dsc0007-2-2small

Shooting groups is hard. This is a picture I took of 22 guys from my church who went on retreat last weekend to a monastery on the banks of the Hudson River. (I’m the one on the left in the top row.)

Getting 22 guys together is hard. Getting them all to look at the camera and smile is hard, especially when you shoot on a time delay and run to get into the picture yourself.  Keeping everyone’s attention can be hard – I had about 3 minutes to get this image. And controlling the weather can be a challenge. It had been sunny all day, but became overcast and dull just minutes before I set up this shot.  Able to warm it up a bit and brighten the colors and add contrast in Photoshop. I’m pleased with the picture, although I wish I had asked the guys in the bottom row to sit down cross-legged, so the second row would be a bit more visible.  Something I’ll remember for next year’s retreat.

Photo tip: Look at your images critically –  and think about what you would do differently the next time.

1 Response to “Group Photos”


  1. April 20, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Blake,

    They look like a friendly group of guys. I like the tip about looking at your work and asking what you should have done differently. It’s always good to go back and acknowledge what you did right and what you could have done better.


Leave a Reply

