04
Oct
09

Food Shoot

_DSC0075

Like many professions, photography is becoming increasingly specialized.  One of the specialties is food photography, and the people who specialize in food typically don’t shoot anything else. So, it was with some trepidation that this mostly portrait shooter accepted the invitation of a top-notch cookbook writer, cook and all around food expert to do a food shoot. I read up on it and thought – I could do this!

_DSC0048

 Pam Anderson, author of “The Perfect Recipe for Losing Weight and Eating Great” and other best-selling cookbooks, is starting a new food blog, along with her daughters Maggy and Sharon. 

I spent a wonderful afternoon with Sharon and Pam, shooting about 10 dishes for their blog.  We had great fun “styling” the food, moving around props to get just the right look, figuring out lighting, and doing a bit of tasting along the way.

_DSC0020 In photographing food, making to food look delicious is, of course, the overriding goal. Everything Pam and Sharon made that day not only looked good but tasted fabulous. As you can see in these pictures, we just used a few props – placemats, napkins, a fork, a bottle of olivc oil, etc.

For lighting, I mostly used one side light coming in from the right side, up high, to mimic a nice soft window light coming into a kitchen. The actual day was overcast and dull, so we needed to create our own atmosphere. In some pictures, I put an orange gel on the flash to warm up the light. To reflect a bit of light onto the left_DSC0015 side of the food, we held up white posterboard on the left, so one flash unit could do the work of two.

Although portraits of people is still my first love, I look forward to more food shoots. 

Check out the new blog, entitled “Three Many Cooks in Pam Anderson’s Kitchen”  by clicking here. There are wonderful stories about cooking and great recipes by these three very dynamic and talented women.

2 Responses to “Food Shoot”


  1. 1 David Anderson
    October 14, 2009 at 6:22 am

    Hi Blake–I loved hearing about all the background details of that photo shoot. You really are helping Pam and I’m glad you’re getting a little extra experience in another realm of photography out of the deal.

    David

  2. October 14, 2009 at 6:33 am

    Blake,

    I’m a bit behind on reading your posts but I really enjoyed seeing the beauty lighting, food and beach post all at once. Like many recreational photographers, I never realized so many factors went into photographing different kinds of subjects. Probably because I just point & shoot. I’m learning a lot from your blog but I’m not sure I’m becoming a better photographer!


Leave a Reply

