20
Mar
10

Model Portfolio Shoot

Last week I did a shoot with Sarah, a lovely professional model. I’ve been doing a number of beauty shots recently, in the style of the one above. In this setup, there is a large softbox behind Sarah, which provides a nice wraparound light, as well as a second light over the camera, aimed down at her at about a 45 degree angle. This second light was in a small parabolic reflector called a beauty dish. The beauty dish provides a wonderful soft light as well. Notice the small catchlights in her eyes, which are indicative of a small light.

I like the fact that Sarah’s face is not completely square to the camera. The slight tilt of her head and turn to her right gives a bit of interest and dimension to the image.

Part of our shoot was to help Sarah develop some new images for her NYC agency to use in her portfolio. Sarah wanted dramatic, high contrast lighting.  In the image below, I just used one light to camera left, in a big umbrella to light her whole body.  Sarah is turned toward the light to bring in enough light to her face.

My good friend Maria Dominici did the makeup for this shoot. Her work was fantastic, as always. Check out Maria’s website here.

5 Responses to “Model Portfolio Shoot”


  1. 1 jackies35
    August 5, 2010 at 11:35 pm

    I love this… I am learning how to use my Lastolite in the background and one light in front.
    I am a self-taught photographer and I will start to take photography classes later this fall.

    The classes I will take is all about lighting. This is one of my weakest subject since I have no clue about light.

    I love how you were able to capture her evenly and the background has no ghosting or harsh shadows.

    Thanks for sharing!!

  2. August 6, 2010 at 1:12 pm

    Great… I really could use your help. I guess as soon as I get home today, I will send you the results.

    Oh Blake… I shoot on location. It depends on the lighting at the location, the images looks very weird. Overexposed, too yellow, or background splash.

    I will upload the images once I get home! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

