29
Jun
10

A Fun Event Shoot Idea

Recently, My brother Sam retired after a long and distinguished career in the independent school busienss. There was a retirement party of family, friends and people he had known from the education world. He asked me to talk pictures at the party.

I have to admit – I don’t really like to shoot events.  (Don’t even mention weddings to me.) But it’s hard to say no to your brother. So, what I suggested was something different from the typical group poses with the forced grins and the plastic cup of wine in each hand. I brought my travel lights, a small blue background and took an individual picture of every person (well, almost all of them) who came to the party. I had a small whiteboard and asked each person to write a message to Sam. Many of the messages were very creative.  A few thought the idea looked a bit like a mug shot, but everyone was game. I shot close to 200 people in 2 hours, so it was a pretty fast pace.

Here’s my picture. I’m the third of three brothers, while Sam is the second.  I’m not really this wrinkly, am I?

3 Responses to “A Fun Event Shoot Idea”


  1. June 30, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    I love it! See you Saturday. xo, #3 if 3!

  2. June 30, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    oops, I meant #3 OF 3!!!


Leave a Reply

